World of Mouth Begins With Personal Circles

Small business owners do a worthy job in connecting with clients and potential customers through their marketing efforts, but where they can fall short is when their personal networks are neglected. Many people find it uncomfortable to keep their friends and family in the loop of what is occurring with their business.  There is a sense that if you are already in my inner circle, you must certainly know what it is that my company does or what my role is. Unfortunately osmosis and transfer of information does not occur and very few people have clairvoyant capabilities.

Recently I have had several encounters with friends and professional colleagues, who while knowing what I do in general, really were rather clueless in terms of the full services that my company provides and the depth of my experience and background. I preach to clients constantly that we are living in a “World of Mouth” universe; it only makes sense that I practice what I preach by updating my personal network on my company capabilities. To do anything less, would be counter to what I believe and that is that peer recommendations from trusted sources are key influencers to purchase behavior.

In the spirit of sharing, please find the latest C3 Newsletter below. It contains an article that talks about the heart of C3 and our social media marketing services.  I plan to have monthly Open House sessions on Google+ Hangouts for people to stop by and chat about burning social media and business questions. Stay tuned for more information!

C3. Creating Connections Consulting Social Media Services
C3 Services- Click on image for full newsletter.

Until we meet again, stay happy & healthy!

Michelle

Chief Social Media Strategist and Founder of C3: Creating Connections Consulting, LLC
Procter & Gamble Sales & Marketing Veteran (15 yrs)
Xavier University, MBA

2 thoughts on “World of Mouth Begins With Personal Circles”

  1. A great point, Michelle. I even think my own family didn’t understand what I did until my book, The Intentional Networker, came out this fall. I recall when I first started my business in 1989 I actually began my networking outreach with my close business colleagues. I completely neglected to really communicate well to my family & friends on what I was doing. I certainly don’t expect people to give me business purely because of a close relationship (nor should any of us put that burden on our friends or family unless we have truly earned their trust professionally). But you are right: they can’t read our minds. You never what they may need or who who they may know who we can serve with our talents and services. Great post!

    1. Thanks for commenting Patti; you summarized my point completely! Congratulations on publishing your book, The Intentional Networker. I will be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

