Don’t Get Caught With Your Pants Down

Reputation Management
Reputation Management- Image credit: C3: Creating Connections Consulting

According to my To-Do list for the day, I’m supposed to be working on an upcoming training seminar and setting my C3 goals for 2011. Instead, I keep coming back to the video and article that I read this week concerning the Google engineer who compromised his position and used his ability to access private data to interact with young teens. Read the full story here.  This is beyond creepy.  I can’t imagine being a teenager and having some adult access my private chats, emails and contact information and taking it a step further by inserting himself into my life and my relationships.  That is just too scary.

Beyond the huge breach of privacy and predator-like behavior exhibited here is the recurring theme that I have been preaching to Cincinnati area schools and parent organizations as well as to my own family:  Nothing is private in the Cloud! It doesn’t matter if you are alone with your pc screen or smart-phone in the middle of a deserted island (with wifi of course), you can’t use social media sites as your private diary or dumping ground for material that you wouldn’t want your grandmother to see.

I recently came in contact with some major “stuff” online linked to someone in a position of authority over one of my children.  This person had done all the right things: set their social media sites to the highest privacy settings and shielded their face and name on public accounts like Twitter with a locked profile.

What they didn’t bargain for was that their friends would not take the same precautions. So by a ‘fluke’ I happened to come across pictures of this individual taken by ‘said friends’ and posted publicly. I also was privy to online comments and descriptions about the person and their ‘activities’.  All I can say is that I am shocked and I’m betting that any employer would think twice about hiring someone based on this version of their ‘brand’.  I know that when I see the person in question, my mind immediately goes back to the online image I now hold of them. How do you spell ‘Loss of R-E-S-P-E-C-T’???

Come on people, do a little Reputation Management on yourself!  If you need help, call me. That’s what I’m here for. I’ll show you how to monitor yourself using free tools.  I don’t want to see your private pics show up in my Twitter feed…..

2 thoughts on “Don’t Get Caught With Your Pants Down”

Leave a Reply

