You Don’t Get To 500 Million Friends Without Making a Few Enemies…

Confession time- It’s Saturday morning and I am supposed to be in a Spinning (i.e. biking) class at my gym, but it’s raining out…Yup, I’m a wimp when it comes to thunder storms! Instead, I’m cruising the social media airwaves for the latest news (doesn’t everyone do this before touching the hard-copy newspaper and grabbing a cup of coffee?). Just found a great post by Mashable that is really making my wheels turn. It is the release of the first poster for the upcoming Fall 2010 Facebook Movie: The Social Network.  What really struck me was the movie tag-line in large white letters covering a full size picture of a very young Mark Zuckerberg, CEO and Founder of Facebook, as portrayed by actor Jesse Eisenberg. It reads: “You Don’t Get To 500 Million Friends Without Making a Few Enemies

Movie poster via Mashable

I don’t know what terrifies me more, seeing the direct stare from my computer screen or what the movie represents. In the first instance, the penetrating eyes, slightly pissed- off look  and the typical teen t-shirt remind me that he is part of a different generation than me.  Zuckerberg grew up with the premise that the internet is the holder of our thoughts, dreams, rants, flames and that all of this “content” should be shared with the world…..and profited from.

As a marketer, I totally understand where he is coming from.  Every second around the globe, humans are posting original content and commenting on friends’ posts and links.  Getting into the behavioral psychology about what is going on and the connections that exist between friends, acquaintances and unknowns is completely fascinating and makes for some great data to help with very targeted marketing.  If I were still at P&G, I would be all over this.  Being that I am a private citizen outside of my former Procter universe, I carry a bit of unease around the whole content vs. privacy issue.

More news that Facebook is opening up additional content to the web:  I saw another post yesterday that Facebook will now submit users’ posts that contain links to public search via OneRiot, one of the world’s largest real time search engines.  It will be interesting to see how this information is viewed by the general public.

No matter what our views are on content and privacy, we have to admit that Zuckerberg has changed our lives.  Social Media is not a fad, but an evolution in how we interact with others.  The final results on this cultural shift will be interesting to see…..

One thought on “You Don’t Get To 500 Million Friends Without Making a Few Enemies…”

  1. I didn’t know anything about this till i saw the preview on youtube, and then google it.

    Weird how it all flows, but i totally get what your saying. It’s not often i hop on line and chat or even bother with checking peoples’ “Status”. But it does change the way we communicate and know each other.

Leave a Reply

