Social Media For Job Search

Immaculate Heart of Mary Church

I love weekends; they give me a chance to walk away from social media for a bit and slow down the whirl-wind that is the life of C3: Creating Connections Consulting.  Well some weekends anyway.  I spent Saturday of this weekend at my monthly gig as part of the IHM Job Search Ministry Board. We give a monthly half day Job Search Workshop that covers the following:

  • Networking
  • Resume Writing
  • Cover Letters
  • Elevator Speech
  • On-line Job Strategies
  • LinkedIn Training
  • Job Search Strategies

We have some interactive sessions, like our infamous CONGA line in which participants line up facing each other and have 45 seconds to share their “elvator speech” with each other before the cow bell sounds and they slide down to face the next person.  One recent participant shared how this was a nerve-wracking exercise with person #1, but by the sixth encounter, she felt very comfortable sharing her pitch.

The Elevator Speech Conga Line

The Workshop is 100% Free and all of the board members volunteer their time on these early morning Saturdays (set up begins at 7:00 a.m.) as well as on the two Thursdays each month in which we host a speaker on job search related topics and give time for open networking.  People come from all over the region to attend our events.  This past Saturday included a woman from deep within Kentucky and a gentleman from Dayton.  There is nothing like this workshop in the Cincinnati area and would probably cost around $200 to $300/person if a non-church group was sponsoring it. See this previous post for a video snapshot of what goes on in the workshops.

Because of my expertise in social media and digital marketing, I offer my knowledge to the group as a resource for the board and for individuals seeking to set themselves apart in their job search.  I give the On-line Strategies and LinkedIn Training portion of the Saturday Workshop.  I re-tool it every month to make sure that the participants have the latest and greatest news on LinkedIn, Twitter, Google & Facebook to help them out.  Just yesterday I mentioned the new LinkedIn capability to “follow” companies and even the more seasoned LinkedIn users in the audience had not discovered this yet.

The fact that I own a social media consulting business and have the knowledge and expertise to share with folks in transition is not what drives me.  What drives me, and people who know me well would agree, is that:

I simply LOVE to help people achieve their goals.


No matter the topic, I would still be there every month trying to make some small difference in another person’s life.

That’s it. Simple, but true.

Know someone in transition?  Tell them to come hang out with me and the rest of the IHM JSM Board on the 3rd Saturday of every month- 8:00 a.m. – noon.  Info here.

Michelle helping C3 Business Clients with LinkedIn
Leave a Reply

