Twitter Addicts Unite

Twitter has become a way of life for me.  My friends and business associates know that this is the fastest way to reach me.  I keep my Droid next to my bed (on silent of course) and I tend to check my DMs as soon as I wake up and scan the feed for trending news. So when I saw this tweet by Chris Voss scroll by on Tweetdeck, it picqued my interest.

Voss Tweet
Voss Tweet

What If I AM a Twitter Addict I thought to myself? I know my family already thinks so. I went to the Voss  link and had to laugh out loud at the truisms that it contained.  Now I don’t admit to finding myself in all ten points, but I will say that I err on the side of the majority. Here’s a few that particularly hit home:

#8 You Actually Hate Someone On Twitter That You Haven’t Met

Well I can honestly say that I don’t “hate” anyone, but I have grown to detest certain troll- like Twitter accounts that wreak havoc on the stream and act like Jr. High cyber bullies as they target certain individuals.  Guess these trolls think they are back on the playground and that four square involves a red bouncy rubber ball…. You know who you are- Get a life for God’s sake!

#7 You’ve Contemplated Going To, Attended, or Dated Someone You Met At A TweetUp.

Attended many TweetUps and have met lots of great folks who became business partners, clients, friends and even developed a major fan crush for a local rocker met at one of these events.

#5 You’ve Used The Term “I Should Tweet That.”

I say that all the time, but here’s the crazy thing:  I actually follow up no matter where I am with my trusty Droid.

#3 You Know Which Avatar You Like Most Of A Twitter Friend’s

Well, I can tell you who the folks are that change their Avatar often.  @prblog and @MariSmith come readily to mind.  Most people are consistent.  I have kept the same branded image on most of my social media sites for the past year.  I guess I still look the same because someone came up to me at the Theater this past weekend  (saw “Ain’t Misbehavin” at the Playhouse in the Park) and asked if I was Michelle….She went on to tell me that she recognized me from Twitter and an on-line interview using the same image. She was very excited to have met me “live”. Guess I can’t go blonde….

Ok Chris Voss’ #1 Answer and I do not meet eye-to-eye- Here it is:

#1  You Think Your URL Shrinker Is Better Than Someone Else’s.

Sorry folks, I’m just not that anal……

5 thoughts on “Twitter Addicts Unite”

    1. Out of curiosity, which of the ten in the original Voss post apply to you? Here is Chris’s full list:

      10. When Twitter Goes Down You Spiral Emotionally.
      9. You Judge People On Their Following/Follower Count.
      8. You Actually Hate Someone On Twitter That You Haven’t Met.
      7. You’ve Contemplated Going To, Attended, or Dated Someone You Met At A TweetUp.
      6. You Get Your News From The Trending Topics.
      5. You’ve Used The Term “I Should Tweet That”.
      4. You Can Tell When Your Spambots Are Getting Hotter.
      3. You Know Which Avatar You Like Most Of A Twitter Friend’s.
      2. You’ve Learned How To Ration Out Your Rate Limit.
      1. You Think Your URL Shrinker Is Better Than Someone Else’s.

  1. Well, for 9 when I see someone who’s following a lot, but has few followers I automatically think spammer, 7 I’ve been to a few tweetups, 5 I’ve thought it to myself but have never said it out loud, and 3 I always take notice of a good avatar

  2. Definitely 7, I’ve been to one tweetup and considered more. Number 6 as well, I am amazed at the information that I get from Twitter.

Leave a Reply

